LEMONS: The Worst Thing I Have Ever Written

Hello! Are you feeling down? Stressed out? Enlighten yourself by reading the WORST thing I have ever written. I wrote this play for my theater class at 3 am and I am so amused by how terrible it is, I thought I would share it. I wrote a real one after and edited 100 times over, so it’s all good 🙂 enjoy your day

Annie Murphy

THE101

April 26, 2016

 

Lemons

Prompt: The word “lemons” must be incorporated into the play three times.

A man is sitting at a coffee table alone, eating breakfast. He seems content. In walks in his wife, visibly angry.

 

MAN

Good morning, honey!

 

WOMAN

Don’t you honey me! Where were you last night?

 

MAN

Why, what are you talking about?

 

WOMAN

You know damn well what I’m talking about, William. I’m not playing around.

 

MAN

Sweetie, let’s not make a big deal of this.

 

WOMAN

WILLIAM![Visibly distraught] Why do always do this to me? I tell you not to, why can’t you listen?

 

MAN

Amy, I’m sorry. I just… [breaks down] I need this. You’ll never understand.

 

WOMAN

No, William. No. I will never understand why you abandon me every night to vendor at a fruit stand. You don’t even get paid!

 

MAN

Amy, people need fruit. This is my calling.

 

WOMAN

What?

 

MAN

You don’t understand me like fruit does.

 

WOMAN

What are you talking about? Do you not hear how weird that sounds? You are a surgeon. You save lives. You don’t need this weird hobby.

 

MAN

It’s not a hobby [firm] Amy. It’s a lifestyle.

 

WOMAN

Whatever, William.

 

MAN

These fruits are my babies. I come to the vending stand and they greet me. I feel at home.

 

WOMAN

I mean yeah William I like fruit too but it’s not like that.  

 

MAN

Let me ask you, what’s your favorite fruit?

 

WOMAN

[Shrugs] I don’t know, I guess…. Apples?

 

MAN

[Laughs in disbelief. As if receiving news that his wife is a murderer] Oh my god. Apple? How can you seriously say that? I can’t believe I married you.

 

WOMAN

What? I said I liked apples. I like apples. What’s wrong with that?

 

MAN

There are so many, Amy. Grapes??? Pineapple??? WATERMELON??? Do you forget the sweet sensation of popping a sliced cantelope in your mouth? I bet you don’t. [Disgust] I bet you don’t even know what a pomegranate is. I must leave now, my fruits need me.

 

WOMAN

They’re not YOUR FRUITS!!!! Seriously William, I have many girlfriends and their marriage problems aren’t as petty as FRUITS.

 

MAN

Amy, I need to leave you

 

WOMAN

For whom?

 

MAN

For the fruits.

 

WOMAN

Jesus….

 

MAN

It’s amusing how blind you can be. Fruits are the gift from mother nature. This is my passion Amy and if you’re going to be unsupportive, I will take my business elsewhere.

 

WOMAN

The business of what?

 

MAN

This marriage.

 

WOMAN

William, what about the children?

 

[ENTER little girl and little boy]

 

LITTLE GIRL

Daddy!!!!

 

LITTLE BOY

Daddy, we missed you! Where were you?

 

MAN

Tending the fruits. Daddy had a rough night selling fruits. I’m so happy to see my children.

 

LITTLE GIRL AND LITTLE BOY

We understand! The fruits need you.

 

WOMAN

You’re kidding.

 

MAN

[To little girl and little boy] Mommy doesn’t understand that daddy has to sell his fruits

 

LITTLE BOY

Mommy how could you!!!

 

WOMAN

[Rolls her eyes] Oh brother.

 

MAN

Now, children. Tell me, what is YOUR favorite fruit?

 

LITTLE BOY

Guava!

 

WOMAN

You’re not serious…

 

MAN

That’s my boy! [Whispers something to little boy and little girl]

 

[Little boy and little girl both laugh hysterically]

 

LITTLE GIRL

Mom…. AN APPLE???? [laughs]

 

WOMAN

[angry] William…………

 

MAN

Amy, I’m going to have to take the children when I leave. They’re going to learn nothing in this household about fruits.

 

WOMAN

William, you are not taking my children on some weird fruit adventure.

 

LITTLE GIRL

How dare you say that, mommy! Fruits are what bind this family together!

 

WOMAN

No???

 

MAN

Say kids, what do you think about coming with daddy to the fruit stand tonight? Jimmy you can help work the cash register and Sally, you can make sure all the fruit is ripe!

 

[BOTH children react as if hearing the most exciting news they have ever received]

LITTLE GIRL AND LITTLE BOY

HOOORAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 

WOMAN

THAT’S IT!!!! I’VE HAD IT. I DON’T WANT TO HEAR IT ANYMORE!!!! I DON’T WANT TO HEAR ANOTHER WORD. NO BERRIES, NO BANANAS, AND LEMONS, LEMONS,I’D BE HAPPY IF I NEVER HAD A LEMON EVER AGAIN. CAN’T THIS FAMILY BE NORMAL??

 

[Little girl, little boy, and man are all in shock]

 

MAN

Well I have heard enough here. Children come with me. We are leaving.

 

[Man, little boy, and little girl, all leave in anger]

 

WOMAN

GOOD RIDDANCE! At least I still have my lovely daughter by my side, Kristy at the university! I better call her up. [Dials phone number and holds phone to her ear] Kristy! It’s mommy. Just calling to say I miss you How are you? Good? That’s good. I’m so happy to hear that. How is school, how are classes? [Beat] Well that’s good!You’re going to change your major? I thought you liked your nursing classes. [Beat] Business? [Beat, Amy begins to be frustrated] You’re going to change your major to business so you can own a fruit stand? UGHHHH.

Leave a comment